You are here
Home > News > Today is the 92nd Commonwealth Day

Today is the 92nd Commonwealth Day


London – Dr Cervantée Wild was the flagbearer representing Aotearoa at the official Commonwealth Day function in London today.

Dr Wild is an interdisciplinary health researcher interested in improving health services and systems for children, young people and their families.

She works alongside NHS clinicians in the intersection between clinical and public health to prioritise participant voices in service improvement and systems change.

Her research interests increasingly span the social and political determinants of health and health inequities.

She is also involved in an ongoing study of healthcare workers’ experiences of personal protective equipment (PPE) access during the covid pandemic in New Zealand as part of the PPE disinfection for potential reuse project.

Aotearoa New Zealand has proudly been a founding member of the Commonwealth since 1931 when its independence was recognised under the Statute of Westminster. HM King Charles is the head of The Commonwealth which is a voluntary association of 54 countries.

It is home to 2.4 billion people and more than half of its population is under 30 making it a very young and dynamic organisation with the opportunity to play an integral role in advancing the youth development agenda and challenging future policies.

The aim of the Commonwealth and its members is to work together to promote prosperity, democracy and peace, amplify the voice of small states, and protect the environment.

Meanwhile, Craig Fenton has been named the latest new Zealander of the year in the UK.

Fenton supports many New Zealand charity organisations based including Te Papa Foundation, Auckland University alumni, Kea New Zealand as well as the broader NZ Inc whānau at NZ High Commission and NZ Trade and Enterprise.

He joins an esteemed list of winners: Corey Baker 2022, Tania Bearsley 2020, Ereti Mitchell 2019, Dame Kiri Te Kanawa  2018, Lady Alexandra Smith 2017, Mark Wilson 2016, Katherine Corich 2015, Eric Tracey 2014, Bronwen Horton 2013, Kent Gardner 2012, Terry Smith 2011, Anna Hansen 2010, Esther Kerr Jessop 2009, Dr Ian Conrich 2008, Jonathan Rennie 2007Tom and Susan Glynn 2006, Peter Leslie 2005, Dame Judith Mayhew Jonas 2004, Don McKinnon 2003, Harry Mahon 2002, Michael Campbell 2001, Sir Mark Todd 2000 and Peter Gordon ONZM 1999.

Photo: High commissioner Phil Goff, Craig Fenton, NZ Uk president Clarence Tan